Free Pattern: Woven Bobble Fingerless Gloves

Woven Bobble Fingerless Gloves

Woven Bobble Fingerless Gloves

Final Woven Scarf of the Season

Inspiration for the Gloves

Inspiration:

So I finished the Final Woven Scarf of the Season and decided they needed matching fingerless gloves. The gloves I made work up very quickly.

These gloves were inspired by Julia Redman’s Vegan Silk scarf pattern and the bobble part of her scarf pattern is the front design on these gloves.

I used a Bulky yarn, Paton’s Shetland Chunky Tweeds (a Wool/Acrylic blend), and a K hook. These gloves used under 1 skien of yarn (under 120 yards).

Both the left and right glove use the same pattern. When slip stitching the seam, fold one one way and the second the other.

As a disclaimer, this is my first written pattern. Please let me know if you have any questions or find errors.

Woven Bobble Fingerless Gloves Pattern:

These gloves are seamless. The body of the glove is worked vertically/side to side, then slip stitched up the side, then the thumb is worked. After that, a finishing edge is worked along the top.

Notes:
Ch3 turning chain will count as a stitch, skip the first stitch (as usually happens with rows of DC, but took me forever to learn). You will be making your last stitch of the next row in this stitch/turning chain.

Ch 1 and Ch 2 turning chains will not count as a stitch, stitch in the first stitch.

Body of the Glove:

All rows for the body of the glove have 21 stitches.

Row 1: Ch 3, 20 Chainless Foundation DC (21)
          ***If you are not comfortable with the Chainless Foundation DC, here’s an easier alternative for Row 1: Ch 23, then DC in 3rd chain from hook and DC in each chain across

Row 2: Ch 3, turn, 12 DC, 4 SC, 4 HDC (21)

Row 3: Ch 3, turn, 4 DC, 3 SC, 13 DC (21)

Row 4: Ch 3, turn, 12 DC, 3 SC, 5 DC

Row 5: Ch 2, turn, 4 HDC, 4 SC, 13 DC

Row 6 – 8: Ch3, turn, 20 DC

Gloves Stitch Pattern

Woven Bobble Instructions

Row 9: Ch 1, turn, 5 SC, [between the post of the sc you just made and the post of the next stitch make bobble (*yo, insert hook, yo and pull up loop* three times, yo and pull through 6 loops, yo and pull through last 2 loops), SC] 7 times, 2 SC (21)
NOTE: This is really a 2 stitch repeat where you insert your hook between the post stitches to create the bobble.

Row 10: Ch 1, turn, 3 SC, [between the sc you just made and the bobble stitch below – in the lower right corner of the below bobble stitch, make bobble (*yo, insert hook, yo and pull up loop* three times, yo and pull through 6 loops, yo and pull through last 2 loops), SC (you will see a bobble stitch and an SC, you will only be making SCs in the SCs)] 7 times, 4 SC (21)
NOTE: You will now see the V pattern, if not, you are making the bobble in the wrong place.

Gloves Cluster Closeup

Bobble Pattern Stitch Closeup

Row 11 – 12: Ch3, turn, 20 DC

Now you will be slip stitching the front to the back, leaving a space for the thumb.

Gloves Flat View

Glove Before Side is Slip Stitched - Please note, this is just to show general shaping, pattern was adjusted after this picture was taken.

Fold the glove in half, right sides together.
Slipstitch the BLO on the side facing you to the FLO on the side farthest from you.
Slipstitch the BLO to the FLO for 11 slip stitches, then on the side facing you, slip stitch FLO for 5 stitches and skip the 5 stitches on the other side of the glove, then 3 slip stitches BLO to FLO and slip stitch in both loops on both sides for the final 2 slip stitches.

Gloves Slipstitch

Optional Thumb:

You will now slip stitch back to the thumb and work the thumb.
You are still working on the wrong side of the glove.

Turn, 1 slip stitch in all loops (for reinforcement), then 3 slip stitches in only 1 loop of the side facing you (no longer connecting the front and back, just to get back down to the thumb).

Turn right side out.

You are now in the thumb opening and will create the thumb:
Thumb Row 1: Ch3, 10 DC in FLO, slip stitch to first thumb stitch (if you need more than 11 stitches for the thumb, do some DC2Tog at the inside of the thumb so that you only have 11 stitches, but so that you also close up any gaps. You may want to make a stitch at the slip stitch or it could end up as a gap. Over 11 stitches with a bulky yarn makes a man thumb which you want to avoid.
Thumb Row 2: Ch 1, turn, 11 SC, slip stitch to first stitch
Thumb Row 3: Ch 1, turn, 11 SC, slip stitch to first stitch, Finish Off

Optional Edging: The only step left is to finish off the top edge. This is done like a granny square where you are stitching under the turning chain spaces at the ends of the rows and chaining between them.

Slip stitch to connect your yarn before the seam.
Ch 1, 2 SCs under ch-space (turning chain), CH 1, 2 SC, CH 1, 2 SC, (CH 2, 2 SC) 4 times, slip stitch to join, Finish Off.

Weave in all ends. Use the ends to tighten up the edge of the seam and straighten it out a little.

Make another one. When you have the right sides facing and slip stitch the seam, make sure it’s the opposite side of the first one you make.

Gloves Thumb Side View

Thumb Side View

Gloves Side View

Gloves Side View

 

Gloves Back View

Gloves Back View After Being Worn a Few Days

Woven Bobble Fingerless Gloves Final View

46 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wolf Crochet
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 21:39:26

    Wow! Very nice pattern and a great tute!

    Reply

  2. cozycoleman
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 04:06:15

    What a lovely simple pattern. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  3. grimleyed
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 11:52:12

    I really like your pattern. I can’t wait to give it a try.

    Reply

  4. Laura Peters
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 15:29:13

    LOVE the pattern and want to try it out – what size hook did you use???

    Reply

  5. June M.
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 14:14:11

    Hi,
    Thank you for the beautiful pattern, but I don’t understand how the second one could work, since there is a fitted part where you sc. Wouldn’t that fitted part be at the wrong part of your hand?
    Thanks,
    June

    Reply

    • Can't Stop Crocheting
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 19:19:33

      Hi June,

      With the second one, you fold it the other way so what was the right side for the first glove would be the wrong side for the second. If you fold the first one left side over right side and seam the right side, for the second one, fold right over left and seam the left side. The gloves are not a perfect mirror image, but the bobbles will be a mirror image.

      Hope that helps,
      Nina

      Reply

  6. haley
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 19:42:51

    are the bobbles on the palm side? i’m trying to work on the other glove and I’m kind of confused.

    Reply

    • Can't Stop Crocheting
      Dec 01, 2011 @ 00:01:26

      No, the bobble are always on the top of the glove. With the second one, you fold it the other way so what was the right side for the first glove would be the wrong side for the second. Someone else just asked the same thing.

      If you fold the first one left side over right side and seam the right side, for the second one, fold right over left and seam the left side. The gloves are not a perfect mirror image, but the bobbles will be a mirror image.

      Reply

  7. Haley
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 01:10:00

    Ah, thank you so much! I was able to figure it out! Thanks for a cute, easy pattern! Perfect for fall!

    Reply

  8. Ellen Nolan
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 15:30:35

    I made a very cute pair of these bobble gloves for a friend- turned out awesome!! I’d love to sell these on my etsy site if that’s ok. I’d put a link to your pattern here if I’m allowed to do this. Just wanted to check with you first. I don’t want to take credit for someone else’s pattern.

    Reply

  9. hayley
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 16:17:49

    These have become my go-to gift for everyone for Christmas! Thank you for a lovely, quick, easy pattern that looks impressive too!

    Reply

  10. veryjoyful
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 14:58:08

    Loving this pattern so far, but I’m stuck on Row 9… I’ve done 5 SCs, but now what? I don’t understand how to put my hook between the post of the stitch I just did and the post of the next stitch… I haven’t made the next stitch yet. Or have I? Help!

    Reply

    • Can't Stop Crocheting
      Oct 28, 2012 @ 07:22:31

      Now you’re up to your first bobble.
      To make the bobble stitch: (*yo, insert hook, yo and pull up loop* three times, yo and pull through 6 loops, yo and pull through last 2 loops)
      Let me know if this picture helps at all: Where to insert hook
      You’re inserting your hook in the bottom between the stitches instead of in the top of the stitch (which is where you usually would).

      Reply

      • veryjoyful
        Nov 06, 2012 @ 17:26:47

        I *think* that might help. I tried it again last night before I read this and I think that’s what I did… but, I ended up with extra stitches at the end of the row. I’ll try again tonight when I get home. I hope I can figure it out, ’cause I really like how it’s looking so far! Thanks!!!

      • veryjoyful
        Nov 06, 2012 @ 17:27:28

        Ignore this comment. I just forgot to click the “notify me” box.

  11. Kat
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 00:08:00

    The last few pictures appear to show a full mitten (rather than fingerless gloves). My ability to edit portions of patterns is shaky, so could you possibly write out the additional steps required to continue and make it a mitten? I’m more a mitten girl than a fingerless glove girl but I’m absolutely in love with this pattern (I’ve been obsessing for months, just haven’t found the yarn in stores yet).

    Reply

  12. Jacqueline
    Dec 07, 2012 @ 18:12:58

    Ok! I am going to give these a whirl!! They look wonderful! I inherited a roll/ball of Lambs Pride Bulky in Prairie Fire, so I will use that! YAY!!

    Reply

  13. beth
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 15:40:39

    I’m having problems with row 3. I always end up running out of stitches before I’m finished? I have two more stitches to do, but no more stitches to put them into!

    Reply

  14. May
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 18:37:02

    I am not understanding your directions on how to slip stich in joining them. Can you please explain a little more? thanks

    Reply

  15. Trackback: New Crochet Kick of Mine | Anything and Everything
  16. Venus
    Jan 18, 2014 @ 10:14:52

    Thank you, I’m making a pair for my grand daughter. love your pattern. again thanks for sharing

    Reply

  17. Jessica
    Feb 28, 2014 @ 15:47:58

    I’m stuck on row 10, I can’t figure out where exactly to put the second row of bobble stitches. Is it possible to show a close up picture of that? Thanks!!

    Reply

  18. Can't Stop Crocheting
    Mar 01, 2014 @ 09:50:46

    It’s been a while since I’ve made these, but since it promises to be yet ANOTHER snowy weekend, I’ll try to get a shot up tomorrow.

    Reply

  19. Davissa Conklin
    Sep 08, 2014 @ 21:01:12

    I just made these. I love how they turned out. I found the easiest way to do the right hand glove is to do each row backwards (read the pattern backwards I mean). I did this because I worked it the way it says to, but when it came to sewing together I was very confused so I frogged it and tried the backwards thing. Worked like a charm 😉

    Reply

  20. Mallory
    Dec 03, 2014 @ 14:13:41

    Hi! I love this pattern! Most of the patterns that I have found have no shape to them nor do they have any decorative stitch. I am stuck on row number two. I cannot make 12+8 equal 21 stitches so I end up with an empty stitch at the end of the row. I am quite new to the craft so, what am I doing incorrectly? Thank you so much for your help.

    Mallory

    Reply

  21. Mallory
    Dec 03, 2014 @ 15:04:20

    Thank you, but I figured out my mistake so disregard my question.
    Mallory

    Reply

  22. Shelley
    Dec 07, 2014 @ 14:31:39

    I too am having trouble picturing second glove. If I fold the second glove the opposite of my first, will my bobbles be on the outside facing me?

    Reply

    • Can't Stop Crocheting
      Dec 07, 2014 @ 15:15:25

      You can push the bobbles so they puff out on one side or the other. It’s not a perfect mirror image but it’s close. Someone else said they read the pattern backwards for it to be a perfect mirror image.

      Reply

  23. Shelley
    Dec 07, 2014 @ 18:48:28

    You are a genius.

    Reply

  24. Sandy
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 01:53:37

    I had trouble with finding the right hole for the second row of bobbles also. I can’t see it in the picture….wish you had an arrow showing the right spot for that row.. I then realized you said had to look like a “v” and that helped….it’s a strange place to find the right hole so I hope it’s right….and I had never folded inside out and had it work before….I believe my multi-colored yarn helped make that not so noticeable if that might help anyone. I am about to make my second one and add the thumbs. I had to add another row of DC to make my “v’s” in the right place… centered. Is that what you meant by “pattern was adjusted after picture?” Sorry, I just tried to work these issues out…I hope they fit when done. A pair for me before doing any gifts. They were fun to do once I got the directions figured out. Almost need a video on this one showing where that second row goes….Sorry I am long but I looked forever before I decided on a pattern for the fingerless gloves and I really like this one!

    Reply

    • Can't Stop Crocheting
      Dec 08, 2014 @ 05:37:43

      Hi Sandy,
      The pattern is as written.
      I’ll take a look at it tonight. Its been several years since I made these.
      For that one picture of the flat glove the stitch count or number of rows changed so you don’t want an exact match to that picture.

      Reply

  25. Jo Gearhart
    Jan 23, 2016 @ 20:24:08

    So how do I print out this pattern?

    Reply

    • Can't Stop Crocheting
      Apr 18, 2016 @ 21:00:46

      If you’re using a PC, you should be able to use CTRL+P or File – Print to print any of the blog posts which contain the patterns.

      Reply

    • Can't Stop Crocheting
      May 03, 2016 @ 22:01:12

      Hi Jo, if you’re still having problems printing, I’ve added a Print & PDF button at the bottom of my posts. That will open another screen with a print friendly layout where you can print or save the post as a PDF. I have checked a few more browsers and while Chrome prints very well, some versions of Internet Explorer do not print at all. This resolves that issue.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Categories