Why Does It Take So Long For My Post to Show Up Anxiety

I’m a big fan of Ravelry. You will never find me on Facebook. You will find me on Ravelry at all sorts of times I shouldn’t be there.

I scour every crochet pattern posted for a potential future project.

I know every project posted in half the groups I’m in.

I bask in the glory of another heart being added to my projects like a teacher has given me another gold star.

The hour it takes for new blog posts to show up and wait to be associated with projects is painful for me. I refresh and refresh, like it will make things go faster. It does not.

Yesterday at 74 minutes, I finally went and ate breakfast.

Once I can finally tell Ravelry what projects I’ve been blogging about, I can get on with the rest of my day. I’m back to judging patterns for future potential, browsing group projects, and checking for new hearts… oh yeah and getting my son ready for school, getting ready for work and all that other fun stuff too. Real life does kick in every now and then.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leslie (aka crochetbug)
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 04:26:37

    My posts take forever to show up, but for awhile they were taking longer than that. I turned out that my RSS feed had had a change of address.

    I sometimes put a link to a specific blogpost in the project notes. It’s got it’s own short comings as a method, but it helps me be a bit less anxious about the whole thing.

    Reply

  2. Can't Stop Crocheting
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 16:50:45

    It would have made me nuts if they were never showing up.

    Reply

  3. Linda Riley
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 18:34:18

    OMG woman……..you took the words right out of my mouth! I do the same thing you in everything you have posted here. I have so many projects started AND Never go on fb (my daughter keeps trying to get me to do that) BUT by the time you just try to get through the day …….Oh Sh— …….It’s time for something else and I really “DO WANT to finish” my patterns it’s just that you know, then there’s “life”?! I am just designing my website, a newbie at my age?! Anyway, by the time I spend hours on the computer there really isn’t enough hours in a day! LOVE your “Hookers don’t Bite” thing too!

    Reply

    • Can't Stop Crocheting
      Dec 20, 2012 @ 20:51:56

      Hi Linda. Funny, so much has changed since I posted this two years ago. I’m not quite the Ravelry addict I was then (it had gotten a bit out of control)… but I still love it and visit at least once a day. I also kept refreshing and refreshing when I posted my new patterns on the blog a few days ago (and postponed breakfast a bit too long).
      Why would you bother with Facebook? There’s no patterns on it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

