Free Pattern: Googly Thoughts – A Super Basic First Amigurumi

Googly Thoughts

A brushed wool Googly Thought made with Stitch Nation Full o Sheep - 100% Wool

My friend that I am teaching crochet to really wants to learn how to make amigurumi. Where do I start?

A few days ago what I believe to be my first ami resurfaced. Chickie is a crocheted ball with glued on googly eyes and a glued felt beak.

That was it, she needed to start with a ball. But how could I make this a little interesting? Then it hit me. I remember owning a bunch of little fuzzy pom pom type things with googly eyes, felt sticker feet, and a ribbon with words on it like “I Love You” back when I was a kid. It would be a fun way to learn how to make the basic shape of amigurumi… a ball. I also wanted to expose her to a few different techniques, yarns, and the concept of gauge, so you have a few options with this pattern.

To introduce my friend Elyse to the world of amigurumi, I present the Free Pattern: Googly Thoughts – A Super Basic First Amigurumi.

Materials:
A little bit of worsted weight yarn. Wool for the fuzzy brushed Googly Thought. Cotton or acrylic for a “regular” one.
Felt for the feet. You can even buy the felt where one side is a sticker if you want to be truly authentic.
Satin Ribbon. I used Basic Floral Satin 5/8″ in white.
Extra Fine Sharpie
Googly Eyes (you can use safety eyes, but that would not be very 80s of you now would it)
Fabric Glue
E/3.5mm Crochet Hook
A little Polyfil stuffing
Scissors or Pinking Shears
Optional: Dog Hair Brush (if you’re using wool and want to make it fuzzy)

Abbreviations:
SC: Single Crochet
SC2tog: Single Crochet 2 stitches together

Notes:
You will be crocheting in the round and will not turn.
Repeat what is listed between the () where instructed.

For a Small Googly Thought:

Row 1:  Ch2, 6 SC in second chain from hook. [6]

Row 2: 2 SC in each SC (12)

Row 3: (1SC, 2SC in next SC) repeat 5 more times [18]

Row 4: 18 SC [18]

Row 5: (2SC, 2SC in next SC) repeat 5 more times [24]

Row 6: 24 SC [24]

Row 7: (2SC, SC2tog) repeat 5 more times [18]

Row 8: 18 SC [18]

Row 9: (1SC, SC2tog) repeat 5 more times [12]

Optional: If you are using wool and want a fuzzy ami, brush the wool hard with the dog brush. Do this before you stuff the ami or some of the stuffing will come through, get brushed into the wool, you’ll end up with white streaks… not good. (They just opened up PetSmart next to Michaels so I decided to pick up a dog brush and give this a shot. I LOVE how it came out.) If you’re looking for more info on this check out Roxycraft’s tutorial.

Stuff the ball with Polyfil stuffing.

Row 10: 6 SC2tog (6)

Finish off by slip stitching across to other side of opening and pull through to close hole and finish off. Pull the ends into the ami with your crochet hook. Shape the ami into a ball by rolling it in your hands.

Optional Antennae: Slip Stitch into the top of the ball, Ch 7, finish off and weave in end. Repeat for other side.

Feet:
Cut the felt feet into the shape of a heart.

Your Words:
Cut the end of your ribbon with your scissors or pinking shears. Leave 1″-1.5″ for your ami to sit on top of the ribbon, then start writing your message with your Sharpie. When done, cut the ribbon with your scissors or pinking shears.

Googly Thoughts Pieces

Googly Thoughts pieces before assembly

Assembly:
Using the fabric glue, glue the eyes to your ami ball. Place the ribbon between the felt feet and the ami ball and glue the three together. You’re done! You have now mastered the crocheted ball and are ready to advance onto an ami with arms and legs.

Need a really quick fun favor? Whip up a bunch of these and personalize the ribbon however you like!

I Love Yarn Googly Thought

Googly Thought with Antennae made from Caron Simply Soft - 100% Acrylic Yarn

Hooked for Life Googly Thought

Googly Thought made of Lily Sugar n Cream - 100% Cotton yarn

Googly Thoughts

Size Comparison of the three to show differences in gauge when using different yarns

3 Googly Thoughts - Top View

Top View of 3 Googly Thoughts

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Free Pattern: Googly Thought TP Cozy to Celebrate NATCROMO « Hookers Don't Bite
  2. Elyse
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 17:35:52

    When are you posting my prized Ami?!?:) I have my family thinking I can crochet Nina!! Hahaha!! I went to Michael’s to get supplies to make more Googly Thoughts. I even brought wool yarn, so I am well on my way to becoming a pro like you!:)

    Reply

    • Can't Stop Crocheting
      Mar 14, 2011 @ 20:21:18

      I promise to post your prize winning Googly Thought by tomorrow. After all, you are the reason I designed them. I can’t wait to see your fuzzy version in wool. Your first one came out great, congratulations.

      Reply

  3. Trackback: My Student’s First Ami « Hookers Don't Bite
  4. Cari Baker
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 13:05:53

    Wow! So very cute! I Love Him!!!!! or HER!!!!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Cute Googly thoughts amigurumi | free amigurumi patterns daily
  6. Trackback: Googly Friends | Hook And String Crochet
  7. Nikki P
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 17:53:28

    Thank you. This came into my life at exactly the right moment. I made a little inappropriate thought and put him on my dresser. Now he needs friends.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Categories