Free Pattern: See My Stitches Color Party Throw

Color Party ThrowAs soon as I finished making the Supersized See My Stitches Scarf, I knew I wanted a blanket just like it. So bright, soft, and squishy, I just wanted to wrap myself inside. Last week with Charisma on sale yet again for $2.50/skein, I seized the opportunity and bought up all the Sunny Day I could get my hands on. Saturday morning my son woke up around 6AM, which means I was up too. I started the blanket after my morning coffee and by mid afternoon, my blanket was done! Based on the very simple pattern of the Supersized See My Stitches Scarf, but as a blanket, here’s how to make the See My Stitches Color Party Throw.

Materials:

10mm Crochet Hook

19mm Crochet Hook (Why 19mm over the Scarf’s 16mm? I bought the 19mm hook last week and wanted to try it out. If you only have a 16mm, you’ll be fine, but the blanket will be a little smaller unless you start with a few more stitches, use another skein or 2, and go more rows.)

10.2 Skeins Loops and Threads’ Charisma in Sunny Day – 1111 yards of bulky weight bright multi color yarn, this used the 10 Skeins for the blanket,  and just a little for the top and bott0m borders

Yarn Needle

Optional: A little glue

Abbreviations (US terms used):

Ch = Chain

SS = Slip Stitch

SC = Single Crochet

HDC = Half Double Crochet

FHDC = Foundation Half Double Crochet

DC = Double Crochet

BLO = Back Loops Only

See My Stitches Color Party Throw Pattern:

Final size is 44″ x 64″.

You will be working this blanket from side to side.

Hold 2 strands of yarn together throughout the pattern, except for the border.

Start using the 19mm hook.

Row 1: Ch3, 60 FHDC
(super easy alternative for Row 1: if you are afraid of the Foundation Half Double Crochet, you can Ch 62, then starting in 3rd chain from hook, 60 HDC)

Row 2: Turn, Ch 2 (does not count as a stitch), 60 HDC in BLO

Row 3 – 36: Repeat Row 2

Border: Work the border on the top and bottom of the blanket. It will be in the side of the stitches. You will be working with only 1 strand of yarn for the border and will use a 10mm hook. You will be working through both loops for the border rows.

Border Row 1: Attach yarn with a SS, Ch 1, SC across (around 74 stitches)

Border Row 2: Turn, Ch 3 (counts as first DC), (SS, DC) repeat across ending with a SS. (same # of stitches as Border Row 1)

**After trying several different border designs that didn’t work, I found this simple one through the Crochet Pattern Central website. It’s from The Sunroom and properly named Easiest Ever Crochet Edging. It works perfectly to finish off this blanket.

Finish Off and weave in ends. Use a little glue in a hidden location if needed. This will help keep the ends woven in since the yarn is so big and the stitches are huge, sometimes the yarn likes to come out. The glue will keep it from doing that. Mary Jane Hall talks about this tip on the Positively Crochet! blog.

Blanket Action Shot

Blanket Action Shot

Couch Wearing Blanket

Couch Wearing Blanket

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Candy
    May 19, 2011 @ 22:06:41

    Love this blanket! I love Loops & Threads yarn too, so now I have to shop for more of it!

    Reply

  2. Ruthie Kraxberger
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 05:11:37

    HOLY COW GIRL! YOU ARE NUTS for making the stiches STAND OUT!!! lol 😉 Love the patterns you have on here, especially the next one (Chinese Lantern Cowl). They are VERY simple to make, especially since we’re having a cold snap here in the SF Bay area…& this is California? I may even make an extra blanket for my car…that is, in case I get cold at work too 😉

    Reply

    • Can't Stop Crocheting
      Jan 13, 2012 @ 07:04:30

      I’m glad you like the patterns. Stitches stand out like crazy with anything 12mm and up (and anything made with a hook 10mm or higher works up super fast).

      The blanket I made has been a big hit in my family. I’ve been thinking I need to make a few more since it’s been getting cold here in NY (where it is supposed to get cold) and they work up in like a second. I mean you could actually make 2 in one day if you really wanted to.

      Reply

  3. Ruthie Kraxberger
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 05:28:11

    By the way, speaking of BIG HOOKS, is the 10mm an O, P, or Q hook? I have an N-hook (9mm), & was wondering if that would work for the border…? The next size up that I have is the S-hook (19mm).

    Reply

    • Can't Stop Crocheting
      Jan 13, 2012 @ 07:00:50

      The 10mm I have is an N hook. Sometimes the M hook is 9mm, sometimes the N hook is 9mm. Speaking to the owner of my local yarn store, it sounds like it changes every few years or by brand. A 9mm hook should be fine to work the border with.

      Reply

  4. Sairsy
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 22:09:53

    I LOVE this. I am thinking of using the same yarn but in Charcoal or Grass. How big does this work up to be size wise, this pictures are great but I just can’t tell 😛

    Reply

  5. Sairsy
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 22:49:13

    Oh I am silly, I just now saw the final size. 😀

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Free Pattern: Somewhere Over the Rainbow « Hookers Don't Bite
  7. Ginny Giles
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:41:08

    I made this in the same measurements but had to use twice the amount of yarn. My gauge was close – I got the same measurements with the same number of foundation stitches across and the same number of rows. Any thoughts on why it took me so much more yarn?

    Reply

  8. PWS
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 08:53:48

    Found this yarn on super discount clearance, and had no idea what I was going to make with it… but I loved the colors, so I bought all the skeins. Googled Sunny Day Charisma to find this amazing blanket! Made it! Although my color pattern differs GREATLY from yours, I love it. (I think the distance in the dye has changed over the years?) It is soft, warm, and super fluffy! Anyway, thanks for sharing this awesome pattern, my niece is going to love her new blanket!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Categories